An Open Letter to My Therapists

I always needed therapy, but I didn’t seek it out until after Mom died. Even then, it was with a therapist I later learned would be no good for me. It wasn’t until after a trauma stopped my life that I sought someone better. Thanks to the efforts of two people, I was led to you.

I never thought I’d ever be comfortable completely opening up to someone. Yes, our work was somewhat forced when it related to the trauma, but never once did you make me feel judged or uncomfortable. You saw the real me, vulnerable and hurting. You helped me work through it one step at a time, and you supported me every step of the way.

We met for a couple of years while I was a student, even during the break I took between graduating and returning. I’ll never know where your patience came from when you sat with me weekly, listening to me vent, purge, and cry. I’ve often got fed up with myself, so I’m surprised you never did too. Instead, you were patient. You helped me build my toolbox of coping skills. You introduced me to mindfulness and BrenĆ© Brown. You listened to everything with empathy. You made sure I knew I wasn’t to be blamed for the bad things, that I didn’t deserve any of it. You reminded me often that I wasn’t crazy.

You were the first person I shared my deepest, darkest secret with. I feared the worst, and I kept imaging the look of horror on your face when you realized I really was crazy. I shouldn’t have been surprised when you promised I wasn’t crazy and offered me time I needed to discuss it in more detail. You have no idea how much that meant to me.

The semester you left was one of the hardest semesters for me. For one of my classes, I had to keep a journal, and when I read through those days the emotions are still strong. I know we’re not supposed to get attached to our therapists, but I went through a grieving process after our last session. I wasn’t prepared to end our sessions and to lose one of the most stable people in my life who supposed me through my darkest times, who listened to me without judgment, and helped me navigate through my depression and anxiety. I understand why you left, and I was so proud of you for making that decision. I wouldn’t have known then that you’re resignation would be the catalyst of my work in mental health advocacy.

It wasn’t long after you left that I found my way accidentally back to being your client. When I reached out to you in search of a private therapist off-campus, you generously offered for me to see you at FCRC. I never had to hesitate to accept. Our last work together strengthened everything I’ve learned from working with you.

What can I say? You saved my life, on multiple occasions. I don’t say that lightly. You saved my life. You gave me a safe place to turn to for support and advice. You showed me compassion and empathy I rarely got anywhere else. You genuinely cared about your clients. You helped me to become a better version of myself through the difficult work we did in therapy and the work I did at home. You introduced me to BrenĆ© Brown’s work, which changed my life. You never gave up on me and you never turned me away. You never made me feel like I was crazy or a victim. You helped me learn how strong I really am. I’ll never be able to thank you enough. You changed my life and saved me. You never gave up on me.

We parted ways last year for the second and last time. I had just returned from the Dominican Republic and you were getting healthy from being sick. We met for only one session, and when I left I didn’t grieve because I was finally ready. You gave me all the tools I needed to keep going on my own. You were there for all the dark moments and the happy ones…it was time to move on. I look back at our time together and feel grateful I had the opportunity to work with you again.

Now, I see someone else weekly at the same place. We’ve worked together for a year, but we’re slowly building up a good relationship.

You’ve listened through the difficult times I’ve suffered and offered your help continually. You’ve gone to the other office when my car broke down, but I still needed therapy. Also, you’ve supported me through navigating my new relationship and the releasing of my brother to his independence. You’ve validated every feeling that I’ve had that was positive and healthy. You’ve helped me make some tough decisions, and you’re encouraging me to keep chasing the positive opportunities I have found.

We haven’t worked with each other for too long, but I feel comfortable opening up to you. You helped me get through last summer, which almost been the end to my life. After I had said goodbye to everyone around me, you remained steadfast in helping me keep going. I am so thankful for that.

You’ve supported all of the positive changes I’ve been making while making sure I’m taking care of myself. I couldn’t thank you enough for being my weekly support. I know we’ll have more sessions to come and you’ll help me grow even more as a person.

I have truly been blessed with finding amazing people.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

LOU RASMUS

big book guy

alexankarrbooks

licensed to cunt

Writers Envy

My Pen Writes of You

Your Personal Motivator | Rose Life Coach

A Different Kind of Motivation

Fulfill Your Potential

Exploring the power of the mind

Everything Marriage

helping relationships and marriages grow

Gary Strachan - "Write" Said Fred

Whimsical Blogs From Deep Within A Capricious Mind