What Happened on March 29th?

In order to get myself going on the paper I should be working on, why not do a little today in history? Let’s get started!

In 1638, the Europeans established a permanent colony in Delaware.

In 1827, Beethoven is buried in Vienna.

In 1867, the U.S. purchases Alaska for $7.2 million. I suppose you could say this was the day the U.S. would regret when Sarah Palin took the political stage.

In 1886, Coca Cola is put on sale for the first time at a drug store. Its inventor said it could cure anything from hysteria to a cold. Maybe just quench your thirst? Or employ the Coca Cola polar bear?

In 1951, the King and I is shown on Broadway starring Gertrude Lawrence and Yul Brynner. I’ve never seen the Broadway versions, but the movie from 1951 was extremely good.

In 1962, the trial for the Bay of Pigs in Cuba opens.

In 1971, Lt. William L. Calley Jr. is found guilty for the My Lai Massacre. This occurred during the Vietnam War when a group of Marines massacred an entire village… woman, man, and child. The pictures from that fateful day are horrifying to look at. Calley was essentially a scapegoat for the real people who caused the massacre. If you’re interested in the Vietnam War, I highly recommend looking more into this. It was a media frenzy when the media caught wind.

This is short today, but we’ll see what the rest of the week brings us 🙂

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Neilly There

I sat, I watched, I waited, I am ...

Zortura's Blog

Food recipes, legal discussions, general news, Real talk and other fun stuff

Playing by My Own Rules

Cancer Messed with the Wrong Hellion

Born in Providence

finding our way back to love

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Emily Alice Grey

Splintering shins for a dime a day...

Now Boarding

Travel - Adventure - Explore - Life - Inspiration

